United States Five Dollar Bill

United States five dollar bill
Front of bill: the 16th U.S. president, Abraham Lincoln.
United States five dollar bill
Back of bill: The Lincoln Memorial, in Washington D.C.

The five dollar bill has gone through a large number of changes since 1861. It has at times carried the portraits of Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, Christopher Columbus, Ulysses S. Grant, and the Hunkpapa Sioux chief Running Antelope. It has carred various designs with Abraham Lincoln’s picture since 1929.

On the back of the five dollar bill the following states names are written at the top of the Lincoln Memorial in this order (starting from top left, then bottom left):

United States five dollar bill - state names on memorial

Top - Arkansas, Michigan, Florida, Texas, Iowa, Wisconsin, California, Minnesota, Oregon, Kansas, West Virginia, Nevada, Nebraska, Colorado, North Dakota
Bottom - Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, Carolina, Hampshire, Virginia, New York

1861 United States five dollar bill

This is the first $5 bill, issued in 1861. It had a portrait of Alexander Hamilton, the first U.S. Secretary of the Treasury.